MinWageTally

Minimum wage increases in 2027: the list by state and date

As of 2026-09-30, 9 states have a published minimum wage increase on January 1, 2027 and 1 on a later 2027 date; 10 more adjust for inflation and have not published their 2027 figure yet. The federal minimum stays $7.25. Every figure below links, on its state page or in the lookup, to the official source it comes from.

Open the 2027 minimum wage by state

Increases on January 1, 2027

States with a published January 1, 2027 increase (checked 2026-09-30)
StateNowJanuary 1, 2027ChangeStatus
California$16.90$17.40+$0.50 (+2.96%)Announced
Colorado$15.16$15.71+$0.55 (+3.63%)Announced
Connecticut$16.94$17.48+$0.54 (+3.19%)Announced
Maine$15.10$15.70+$0.60 (+3.97%)Announced
Michigan$13.73$15.00+$1.27 (+9.25%)Set in law
Minnesota$11.41$11.87+$0.46 (+4.03%)Announced
New Jersey$15.92$16.48+$0.56 (+3.52%)Announced
Rhode Island$16.00$17.00+$1.00 (+6.25%)Set in law
Virginia$12.77$13.75+$0.98 (+7.67%)Set in law

Increases later in 2027

States with a published 2027 increase after January 1
StateNow2027DateStatus
Alaska$14.00$15.00July 1, 2027Set in law

Still to be announced

These states adjust the minimum wage for inflation. We do not estimate the figure: the table shows when the change takes effect and, where the state says so, by when it publishes the number.

Inflation-indexed 2027 rates not published yet
StateNowTakes effectExpected by
Arizona$15.15January 1, 2027Not stated
District of Columbia$18.40July 1, 2027Not stated
Montana$10.85January 1, 2027September 2026
Nebraska$15.00January 1, 2027October 2026
New York$16.00January 1, 2027October 2026
Ohio$11.00January 1, 2027September 2026
Oregon$15.55July 1, 2027April 2027
South Dakota$11.85January 1, 2027October 2026
Vermont$14.42January 1, 2027Not stated
Washington$17.13January 1, 2027September 2026

City and county increases

Local rates: published 2027 figures first, then the ones still to come
PlaceNow2027
Albuquerque (city), NM$12.00$13.00 from January 1, 2027
Denver (city and county), CO$19.29$19.84 from January 1, 2027
Flagstaff (city), AZ$18.35$18.95 from January 1, 2027
Minneapolis (city), MN$16.37$17.02 from January 1, 2027
Portland (city), ME$16.75$17.75 from January 1, 2027
Saint Paul (city), MN$16.37$17.02 from January 1, 2027
San Diego (city), CA$17.75$18.35 from January 1, 2027
Santa Fe (city), NM$15.40$17.50 from January 1, 2027
Seattle (city), WA$21.30$22.14 from January 1, 2027
Unincorporated King County, WA$20.82$21.57 from January 1, 2027
Berkeley, CA$19.61To be announced, expected by May 2027 (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Chicago (city), IL$17.05To be announced, expected by June 2027 (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Cook County, IL$15.40To be announced (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Howard County, MD$16.00To be announced (takes effect January 1, 2027)
Los Angeles (city), CA$18.42To be announced, expected by February 2027 (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Los Angeles County (unincorporated areas), CA$18.47To be announced (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Montgomery County, MD$18.00To be announced, expected by March 2027 (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Mountain View, CA$19.70To be announced (takes effect January 1, 2027)
New York City, Long Island & Westchester, NY$17.00To be announced, expected by October 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027)
New York, rest of state, NY$16.00To be announced, expected by October 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027)
Oakland, CA$17.34To be announced (takes effect January 1, 2027)
Oregon nonurban counties, OR$14.55To be announced, expected by April 2027 (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Pasadena, CA$18.57To be announced (takes effect July 1, 2027)
Portland metro (urban growth boundary), OR$16.80To be announced, expected by April 2027 (takes effect July 1, 2027)
San Francisco, CA$19.61To be announced (takes effect July 1, 2027)
San Jose, CA$18.45To be announced, expected by October 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027)
Santa Monica, CA$18.47To be announced, expected by January 2027 (takes effect July 1, 2027)
SeaTac (hospitality & transportation), WA$20.74To be announced, expected by October 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027)
Sunnyvale, CA$19.50To be announced, expected by November 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027)
Tucson (city), AZ$15.45To be announced, expected by November 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027)
West Hollywood, CA$20.25To be announced (takes effect January 1, 2027)

No change in 2027

Alabama ($7.25), Arkansas ($11.00), Delaware ($15.00), Florida ($15.00), Georgia ($7.25), Hawaii ($16.00), Idaho ($7.25), Illinois ($15.00), Indiana ($7.25), Iowa ($7.25), Kansas ($7.25), Kentucky ($7.25), Louisiana ($7.25), Maryland ($15.00), Massachusetts ($15.00), Mississippi ($7.25), Missouri ($15.00), Nevada ($12.00), New Hampshire ($7.25), New Mexico ($12.00), North Carolina ($7.25), North Dakota ($7.25), Oklahoma ($7.25), Pennsylvania ($7.25), South Carolina ($7.25), Tennessee ($7.25), Texas ($7.25), Utah ($7.25), West Virginia ($8.75), Wisconsin ($7.25), Wyoming ($5.15).

Where a state has no minimum wage law or one below $7.25, employers covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act pay the federal $7.25. To see which of your employees an increase touches and what it costs, paste your staff list into the raise calculator.

Frequently asked questions

Is the minimum wage going up in 2027?
Yes in 10 states with a published figure so far, and possibly in 10 more once their inflation adjustment is announced. 31 jurisdictions have no 2027 change; the federal $7.25 does not change either.
What is the minimum wage in California in 2027?
California: $17.40 from January 1, 2027 (now $16.90).
What is the minimum wage in New York in 2027?
New York: To be announced, expected by October 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027) (now $16.00).
What is the minimum wage in Florida in 2027?
Florida: No change ($15.00) (now $15.00).
What is the minimum wage in Virginia in 2027?
Virginia: $13.75 from January 1, 2027 (now $12.77).
What is the minimum wage in Ohio in 2027?
Ohio: To be announced, expected by September 2026 (takes effect January 1, 2027) (now $11.00).

Last updated 2026-09-30. Rates from official state and city sources, checked on the date shown next to each figure. Some 2027 rates are announced later in the year. Not legal advice; check your state labor department and local ordinances. Not affiliated with the US Department of Labor or any state agency.